I'm not too sure there is one (grin). A late night and 5.45 alarm means a very bleary me this morning. Still yawning my way around the house. Which is surprisingly tidy today. Very surprising!
Research for the day: rain water tanks. To save you all the trouble, the cheapest 5000L JoJo tank to purchase and bring home today is at Pennypinchers for R5000 including delivery (which is important because the delivery guys have to roll it over the roof). Cheapest overall - if you can wait another 3 weeks - is Makro at R4699 for online only orders. Not sure if that includes delivery. The reason for the research is the article I read about water in CT going forward, or rather the estimated lack of it. Did you know that 1m of roof gives 1 L of water, and that's just if there's a little shower. You can fill a 5000L tank in all of an hour if you get a decent downpour. Wow. Oh, and BTW current rainfall predictions show less than 1/3 of normal rainfall is expected for the rest of the year too. (Quick prayer here!)
We've also evaluated our household use and so far, we are at 60L/day for the whole family. Which is pretty good use of water. Shower water is used for flushing, and flushing doesn't happen unless it really needs to. Certain smaller people just forget anyway. Ick. But that does save water :) We had a guest the other day who asked which bucket he should use to flush. Now that takes hosting to a new level. Not to mention friendship.
Did I tell you about the time I put the hose from the washing machine into the rubbish bin to collect the water and completely flooded the laundry? So much for saving water. I was rather cross and very damp as I mopped for hours. The new plan is to find a plan to get the grey water out to the lawns or to a tank for reuse. Without flooding the laundry. Or me. Aha. More research.
Could it be I am avoiding work? Ah, my coffee is ready, so there's a valid excuse to say goodbye to this rather pedestrian post.
Oh, thought for the day. Thanks Google. "Be the motivation. Not the distraction." Huh?? Ok, that's it. I am seriously not firing on any cylinders this morning. Don't get it. But I am going to get that coffee. Have a fab day all. x
No comments:
Post a Comment